About the Prize

The Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize (BAAP) is an annual prize and exhibition that aims to increase opportunities for participation in Bayside’s arts and cultural program; foster a sense of identity, pride and place in Bayside through a community event; and enable the acquisition of suitable artworks for the Bayside City Council Art & Heritage Collection. BAAP is judged by industry professionals who award total prize monies and acquisitive funds of $19,000.

In 2017 the major prize of $15,000 will be awarded to a painting. There is also a Local Art Prize of $3,000 for an artwork or artist with a local connection and visitors to the exhibition can become involved by casting a vote in the $1,000 People’s Choice Award.

In 2017 we welcome Samantha Comte, Curator & Exhibition Coordinator, Ian Potter Museum of Art, The University of Melbourne and Jason Smith, Director Geelong Gallery who will be joining Joanna Bosse, Curator, The Gallery @ BACC on the 2017 selection panel.

2017 Finalists

Annabelle ARONICA, Lynne BOYD, Claire BRIDGE, Andrew BROWNE, Matt BUTTERWORTH, Isobel CLEMENT, Jesse DAYAN, Ann DEBONO, Joni DENNIS, Mark DOBER, James DODD, Nanou DUPUIS, Carla EDGERTON, Phil EDWARDS, Robert FENTON, Brett FERRY, Louise FORTHUN & Stewart RUSSELL, Malcolm GARTSIDE, Jennifer GOODMAN, Julia GORMAN, Dana HARRIS, Linda JUDGE, Gina KALABISHIS, Robert KELLY, Robyn KINSELA, Harley MANIFOLD, Jarrad MARTYN, Yuria OKAMURA, Steven RENDALL, Jordan RICHARDSON, Julian AUBREY SMITH, Mignon STEELE, Danielle TOOLEY, Datsun TRAN, Michael VALE, Deborah WALKER, Victoria WATTS, Alice WORMALD, and Daniel WORTH.

The finalist exhibition will be held at The Gallery at Bayside Arts & Cultural Centre, Brighton Town Hall from Saturday 6 May to Sunday 18 June.

Please join us for the award announcement and opening event on Thursday 11 May from 6 – 8pm.